New South Wales is home to a vibrant and prosperous minerals industry that continues to deliver jobs and investment to rural and regional NSW. Our minerals industry, including coal, is the source of almost a third of NSW's total exports (merchandise and services combined, 2014-2015).

The NSW Government established the Minerals Industry Taskforce to provide recommendations on strategies to drive growth, innovation and productivity in the sector. 

The Minister for Industry, Resources and Energy has released the Taskforce's final Industry Action Plan: NSW Minerals PDF (2.16 MB PDF) and the Government's Response to the Plan PDF (154 KB PDF).

The response details the Government's position and actions it will take on each of the Taskforce's 12 recommendations.

The Government is implementing actions to support safe and sustainable industry growth based on environmental, social and economic considerations across three priority areas:

  • enhancing community engagement
  • improving the efficiency and effectiveness of NSW's regulatory regime
  • securing sustainable industry growth and jobs for regional NSW.

Consistent with the issues identified in the Plan, the Government has announced a number of reforms that have been progressively implemented throughout 2015.


The Minerals Industry Taskforce was established in May 2014 by the NSW Minister for Resources and Energy to deliver a Minerals Industry Action Plan with strategies to address the challenges being faced by the NSW minerals industry, and to drive growth, innovation and productivity in the industry.

The final Minerals Industry Action Plan focuses on three broad areas:

  • a transparent process and integrated policy that provides certainty for mining companies investing in NSW
  • to consolidate fees and charges
  • develop skills and provide support infrastructure to foster a vibrant mining sector.

In finalising its Plan, the Taskforce released a Draft Industry Action Plan: NSW Minerals PDF (477 KB PDF) for public comment on 24 November 2014, with submissions closing on 19 December 2014.

The Taskforce also released two commissioned reports:

The Minerals Industry Taskforce comprised of members covering a broad cross section of industry players representing explorers, miners, industry associations, employees, university research and regional business. The members were:

  • Chair: Rob Adamson, Managing Director, RFC Ambrian
  • Bob Besley, Chairman, Silver City Minerals Limited
  • Stephen Galilee, CEO, NSW Minerals Council
  • Bernie Hogan, Regional Manager, Eastern States & Northern Territory, Association of Mining & Exploration Companies (AMEC)
  • Katharine Hole, Executive Director, Strategic Policy & Coordination (departmental representative)
  • Peter Jordan, District President, Northern Mining & NSW Energy District, CFMEU
  • Kristen Keegan, CEO, Hunter Business Chamber
  • Stefanie Loader, General Manager, CMOC Northparkes Mines
  • David Moult, Managing Director and CEO, Centennial Coal
  • Professor Sue O'Reilly, Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Core to Crust Fluid Systems and Director, GEMOC, Macquarie University