Mineral Allocation Areas (MAAs) are areas where new exploration licence applications cannot be lodged without Ministerial consent. The areas are declared by the Governor of NSW and can apply to specific mineral groups. Existing licences, including Group 1 mineral licences, within these areas are unaffected by MAAs. Legislative requirements, such as reporting and renewal requirements, of existing licences are also unaffected by MAAs.

In 2018 the Governor of NSW declared five new MAAs for Group 1 minerals (metallic minerals) in order to allow the MinEx CRC activities  to proceed.

Current MAAs are (follow the link to view in MinView):

For further information
Resource Operations
1300 736 122 (toll free) or +61 (0)2 4063 6600
+61 (0)2 4063 6974
Resource Operations, Mining, Exploration and Geoscience, Department of Regional NSW, PO Box 344 Hunter Regional Mail Centre NSW 2310
516 High Street Maitland NSW 2320 Map